Food is Life.

A lot of people have asked what the food is like here so I thought I’d share a little bit about my diet.

For breakfast I have Weet-Bix. I used to eat this back in New Zealand anyway so it wasn’t a major transition. I began eating it with milk (when I say milk I really just mean milk powder and water). Every now and then we’d get bananas so I’d throw a couple in there too. Now when I can get it, I use soy milk, which I actually really love. Normal cow’s milk is expensive and only comes in cardboard cartons, not in a plastic or glass bottle like at home. Most times though, because we’re poor I’ll heat up some water in the microwave and put my Weet-Bix in, allowing it to soak up the water. It looks like baby food but I’m not fussed. Obviously I have preferences to eat it with soy milk and bananas but when you learn to make do and just appreciate what you have.

Lunches are a little bit of a mix. If we have left overs we’ll eat that. Otherwise I’ll have a peanut butter sandwich. Sometimes I’ll have donuts and bananas with peanut butter. Or other days it could be rice, sweet corn (from a can) and peanut butter. As you can tell, I eat a lot of peanut butter. When I first came I just ate the peanut butter from the store (which is actually from China) and thought it tasted fine. But we got given some Skippy peanut butter (I think it’s an American brand of peanut butter) and now, everything else tastes disgusting.

thumbnail_p1010241
For dinner it’s whatever we’re given. Most nights we have dinner appointments. Every meal is served with rice. We could have tapioca, pumpkin, battered and fried fish rounds, noodles, corned beef, spam, octopus, fish and chicken (cooked in a variety of ways). Vegetables are hard to source here. And the ones found are so expensive. I never ever thought that I would miss fresh fruit and vegetables so much in my life. As you might guess, we eat a lot of bananas for nutrients. It’s major blessing when members give us a bunch of bananas. They only last for about week because we eat so many!

Also, most times we’re given cordial (sweetened water) to drink. I prefer drinking water that hasn’t been sweetened but Kiribati people love sugar in everything they eat and drink. That was probably the hardest thing to adjust to – consuming so much sugar in food and especially drink but I just drink small amounts at appointments and then gulp down a whole bottle of water afterwards. Speaking of water. We’re encouraged not to drink water that hasn’t been filtered but it’s rude if you don’t drink what people have prepared so we just drink whatever they give us. At home though there is a water filter system and we use that. It was a huge change not being able to drink straight from the tap but I’m used to it now.

Leave a Reply

